#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: Dead Set by Will Carver

My second Netgalley November title completed, poorly children have scuppered my reading schedule somewhat!

I was perhaps a bit daft when I chose this book because I didn't realise until I'd started reading it that it is the third in a series about Detective January David. Therefore I knew nothing of the story thus far or anything about any of the characters who appear in all three books. Perhaps once I realised I should have stopped and read the other books first, in  chronological order. The thing is though, I couldn't stop. Within a few pages I was hooked. It's been a while since I read a psychological thriller and longer still since I read one as different and as enthralling as Dead Set.
The author uses multiple characters to tell the story, often but not always in the first person. These characters include the voices of the victims, describing their own deaths. As I read the book these voices became like a jigsaw as I attempted to piece everything together. It may not be a style that every reader will like but I was completely engrossed by not only the story itself, which is chilling, absorbing and superbly paced, but by the unique way the book is written. It's not a book for the faint hearted, whilst not excessively gory it doesn't pull any punches and the paranormal slant adds an extra layer of thrills without taking over the story.
In conclusion, whilst I think it does make more sense to read these books in order, if like me you find yourself reading Dead Set first and if you enjoy well written thrillers that are intelligent and unpredictable then also like me you will love this book.
Of course I am going to have to read the first books, Girl 4 and The Two very soon!
Disclosure: I received a free copy of Dead Set from Netgalley in return for my honest review.

Dead Set will be published by Arrow on November 21st.

Comments