#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: The Ice Cream Army by Jessica Gregson

Another review for Netgalley November, after a slow start I've read a few so expect more reviews soon!



Set in Australia in 1915, The Ice Cream Army tells the story of Halim, a young Turkish immigrant who arrives in Sydney looking for work and ends up moving to Cottier's Creek, an outback mining town. Here he befriends another Turkish immigrant, Süleyman, the town's ice cream seller and sets up as a Halal butcher for the Muslim enclave known as Ghan Town. However, war in Gallipoli starts to affect Cottier's Creek and the townspeople's attitudes towards the residents of Ghan Town and particularly Halim and Süleyman start to become strained. As the war progresses residents watch anti-Turkish propaganda and men from the town are injured in the conflict, meaning instead of the previous acceptance they received from the Australians the Turks face racial prejudice and violence. Eventually they feel they have no other option and are moved to take devastating action.
The Ice Cream  Army is a fictionalised account of "the battle of Broken Hill", when in 1915 two two Turkish men declared war on Australia and attacked a train, killing two of the passengers. It's a raw, touching and frightening account of racism and prejudice and how people can be driven to commit terrible atrocities. Whilst bleak, this is a beautifully written book, empathic towards the Turks and yet still understanding of why the Australians behaved as they did. It reminds us again of the horrors war can drive people to. It's not a book to read if you want a happy ending but it's a story that had me thinking for days after I read it, a superb book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley and the publishers in return for my honest review.

The Ice Cream Army is published by Legend Press.

Comments