#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: Second Chance by David Perry

Another Netgalley November Review, today I'm reviewing Second Chance by David Perry.




Alex Benedict is a hospital pharmacist whose wife has terminal cancer. He has a challenging job, a harsh boss and is battling exhaustion as he tends for his wife. If that isn't enough he then discovers patients are mysteriously dying and after the suicide of a colleague is thrust into an investigation that will threaten his life and test his beliefs.
This thriller reminded me a bit of Dan Brown's books, a man uncovers a conspiracy and is forced to follow clues that will lead him to an incredible and previously unbelievable discovery whilst his life is in danger as others also race to discover the mysterious formula. It's not really my sort of book, whilst I could suspend my belief for the premise of the story I still think the book often felt too unbelievable. Benedict's friends, who agree to help him with very little persuasion despite the threat to their lives, all turn out to be able to help him decipher what appear to be obsure and puzzling clues amazingly quickly. Benedict himself is badly injured yet within a few pages and it seems only a few days later has recovered enough to become embroiled in a dangerous fight.
That said it's an easy to read book with plenty of chapter ending cliffhangers and so although it's not a book I would choose to read again I think plenty of people will enjoy it.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the publishers through Netgalley in return for my honest review.

Second Chance is published by Pettigrew Enterprises LLC.

Comments