#BlogTour #BookReview - Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

It's my pleasure to be hosting the blog tour for Lay Me To Rest by E.A. Clark today, my grateful thanks to the author, publishers and Rachel's Random Resources for inviting me and for my…

#BookReview - Made Safe by Francis Sparks




For Private Investigator, Moses Winter, the job just got more complicated. His adultery case has taken a violent turn landing the subject of his investigation, Fred Dunsmore, in the hospital and Moses in jail. Moses is held for questioning along with his erratic client, Sharon Dunsmore, and Fred’s mistress, a Bosnian refugee who just happens to be related to the DCI agent investigating the case, Raif Rakić.

After Rakić secures their release, Fred goes missing, and Moses Winter finds himself compelled to find him. With the assistance of Rakic, Moses unravels Fred's ties to Des Moines's underworld and is forced to confront the most heinous crimes of his career.


I've said before on this blog that I really enjoy books that have a strong sense of setting and Made Safe certainly does that. Previously only really known to me as the childhood home of Bill Bryson, Des Moines is brought chillingly (literally so, the snow and ice of the Iowan winter certainly play their part here) to life. It's not just the location that provides the shivers here though, Private Investigator, Moses Winter and DCI Raif Rakić find themselves working together on a case that uncovers a truly odious criminal ring. A reluctant hero, Moses Winter is thrown into danger after taking on what should have been a simple investigation into adultery. However, once involved he will not give up and it's his tenacity, even when his life is at real risk, that makes him such an engaging character. He has his fair share of flaws too, not least his tendency to act first and think later but he is a likeable, principled man who has a dry wit about him too. This is just the first book in what will be a series of books featuring Moses, and with such a strong protagonist I certainly think Francis Sparks will be gaining plenty of fans. Raif Rakić is a rather refreshing police officer in a mystery involving a private investigator because he works with, rather than against Moses. Their working relationship has a somewhat rocky start but as events proceed they develop a mutual respect for one another. Rakić has his reasons for wanting the villains they are investigating put behind bars beyond just a simple desire for a police officer to solve a case. His past in Bosnia and his family ties mean he has a special interest in the criminal underbelly they uncover in Des Moines.
Faced paced from the start, Made Safe builds towards a really tense finale. With an all too contemporary mystery at the heart of the book and some really unsavoury villains, this is a taut, atmospheric thriller and a really solid start to a new series. I look forward to meeting Moses again.
My grateful thanks to the author for sending me a copy of Made Safe.

Made Safe is published by Pandamoon Publishing.

Francis Sparks is on Twitter as @writingsparks and his website is here.

About the Author

Francis Sparks lives in Des Moines, Iowa with his amazing wife, Kelly. If he’s not working on his next novel or short story, you can find him teaching his children about dragons.

Comments