#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: A Body Displaced (Lansin Island #2) by Andrew Butcher


A Body Displaced is the sequel to A Death Displaced, a paranormal suspense/contemporary fantasy novel I read a little while ago featuring Nick, a man whose dreams of an accident turned out to be prophetic and Juliet, the woman he saves who as a result discovers a remarkable ability of her own. I enjoyed this debut novel, there was much to like about it with its likeable main characters and fascinating premise. I did however, feel the story took a little while to really bite and the ending felt a bit loose, I was waiting for something big to happen and it didn't. That said it was a good read and so I was keen to read this next book in the series.
 I was pleased to see the plot develop more quickly this time although I did feel the events of the first book were covered in more detail than I like, personally I prefer it when sequels assume the reader knows what has gone on before. However, I did enjoy this book being much darker with a deeper and more intriguing insight into the Otherworld we first learned a little of in the first book. Nick and Juliet again take centre stage although for much of the book their stories unfold separately, and we learn more about their abilities, both what they're capable of and the emotional and psychological impact on their lives. New characters who are introduced or developed further from the first book are well written and complex but I must admit I wasn't keen on the in depth physical description of almost every person in the book, particularly when it often mattered little to the plot, I'd rather use my imaginatiion. This is a fairly small gripe though and overall I was impressed with A Body Displaced, the ending too is more satisfying and did a good job of whetting my appetite for the next book in the series, A Spirit Displaced.
Disclosure; I received a free copy of A Body Displaced from Netgalley in return for my honest review.

Andrew Butcher's website with links to buy his books can be found here.

Comments