#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: A Grimm Legacy by Janna Jennings


Following my review of Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm by Philip Pullman recently, I couldn't resist this children's book inspired by the stories. Set in modern times the book follows four teenagers who are suddenly whisked from their regular lives and end up in the fairy tale land of Elorium. Fairy Tales in the modern world isn't a new idea of course, currently the TV shows One Upon a Time and Grimm both feature the characters from the stories as "real life".
Nevertheless this is an enjoyable and well plotted adventure story. The four main characters are strong and likeable and there is a good mix of the famous and the lesser known tales in the book. I didn't feel the bad guy was used enough and his character needs more fleshing out but this is the first book of presumably a series and so I'm sure more will be forthcoming there. In all I think A Grimm Legacy is a solid start to a new series and will particularly appeal to children aged around 9-13 years.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley in return for my honest review.

A Grimm Legacy is published by Patchwork Press.

Comments