#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes



Broken Monsters is one of those novels that are impossible to pigeon hole. At first glance it's a police procedural thriller but it quickly becomes apparent there is a supernatural, urban fantasy element to the book and the reader is treated to a story that is dark and creepy but also a thought- provoking look at what makes a monster.
Detective Gabrielle Versado is the single mom homicide detective who believes she has seen it all. When a body is discovered that is half boy, half deer somehow fused together Versado realises this is weird even for Detroit. It's worth mentioning here that the city is a central player in the novel, in Beukes' hands it comes alive, the bankrupt city still vibrant despite its dark and dangerous reputation.
Much of Broken Monsters focuses on Versado's teenage daughter, Layla and it is here that the book really shines. As nail-biting as the hunt for the serial killer is, what particularly stood out for me was the light Beukes shines on the murky darkness of the internet. It's not just the paranormal monsters we should be scared of, there are monsters of a different sort sat behind a computer screen who also have the ability to tear lives apart. The power the internet gives people is perhaps more chilling and unsettling than anything.
Broken Monsters is a multilayered, intelligent thriller that will set your heart racing. It's the sort of compelling page turner that will have you reading long into the night - but then you might need to sleep with your light on!
Thanks to the author and publishers for my copy received through NetGalley in return for my honest review.

Broken Monsters is published in the UK by Harper Collins

Comments