#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton




Set in 1682, The Miniaturist tells the story of Petronella (Nella) Oortman, an 18 year old from the country who after a hastily organised arranged marriage moves to her new husband, Johannes' imposing home in Amsterdam. She quickly discovers it's not just the house that is imposing, Johannes' unmarried sister, Marin is a cold and formidable presence. Meanwhile Johannes himself is barely present and Nella is thrust into a life of little purpose - despite her marriage, it is Marin who is undoubtedly woman of the house - and wedded to a virtual stranger. When Johannes brings home a wedding present for Nella, a cabinet sized replica of their house, she finds a miniaturist who makes perfectly scaled down models and vows to become mistress of this house if she can't be mistress of her actual home.
Things take a strange and potentially chilling turn though when she begins to receive gifts from the miniaturist that reflect or even foretell actual events within the household. And this is a household teeming with secrets and lies. In an Amsterdam where society's morals are controlled by an unforgiving church, these secrets threaten to tear all their lives apart.
This is a beautifully written, vivid and absorbing book with a plot that captures perfectly the attitudes and politics of the time, particularly the oppressive lives women were forced to endure. If I have one small complaint it's that I felt I would have liked to have learned more about the miniaturist. In some ways and hopefully without giving too much away I was left feeling there was more to come and I wondered if there will ever be a sequel that uncovers more secrets about the mysterious miniaturist. That's probably just wishful thinking on my part however, and shouldn't take anything away from this assured and compelling debut novel.
Thank you to the author and publishers for my copy received through NetGalley in return for my unbiased review.

The Miniaturist is published in the UK by Picador.

Comments