#BookReview - #BreakingBones by Robert White

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter.

But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones.

Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice.

The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.

Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.

Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.

Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.

Every dog will have its day.

This gritty, addictive crime story, fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 

Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

It's my pleasure to be reviewing Breaking Bones today, many thanks to the publishers a…

Book Review - Quarter Past Two on a Wednesday Afternoon by Linda Newbery



This is a difficult review to write, not because I didn't enjoy it, quite the opposite in fact, but it's a story that's teeming with secrets and I'm mindful to give nothing away.
The basic premise is that Anna's then teenage sister, Rose disappeared twenty years ago. No body was every found and the family have no idea whether she chose to leave or was taken and whether she is still alive. Twenty years of not knowing takes its toll on the family, Anna struggles to commit to her relationship with Martin, even forming a friendship with his ex-wife Ruth. Meanwhile her parents, Sandy and Don finally decide to sell their family home with all its memories but with so much unsaid between them can they go through with it?
The story cleverly switches between the present, the past before Rose's disappearance and even further back to when Sandy was a teenager. Gradually secrets are laid bare as the readers and the family learn of the decisions made by them and by others that eventually affected them all.
Quarter Past Two on a Wednesday Afternoon is a compelling, often achingly sad novel. It's a well structured family drama with unexpected twists and believable, sympathetic characters. This is Linda Newbery's first adult novel, I very much hope to read further books from her in the future, in the mean time I recommend you read this one.
My thanks to the author and publishers for my copy received through NetGalley in return for my honest review.

Quarter Past Two on a Wednesday Afternoon is published in the UK by Doubleday.

Comments